Andrew Lawrence Named Bob Cousy Award Candidate

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – For the second consecutive year, College of Charleston senior point guard Andrew Lawrence (London, England) was named to the watch list of candidates for the prestigious 2013 Bob Cousy Collegiate Point Guard of the Year Award as announced by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame on Thursday.

 Junior Andrew Lawrence is among the top point guards in the nation... Courtesy:

Junior Andrew Lawrence is among the top point guards in the nation…


The annual honor, named for Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic Bob Cousy, recognizes the top point guards in men’s college basketball. Over 80 candidates were nominated for the 2013 Bob Cousy Award.


The 6-foot-1 team captain and 2012 London Olympian, became the first CofC men’s basketball player in program history to earn a spot on an Olympic Team roster this past summer. He helped his native Great Britain to its first-ever Olympic win over China in tournament pool play. Lawrence was the youngest member of the squad and one of only two current collegians to earn a spot on the roster of the 12 Olympic-qualifying countries. A 2012 NABC Division I All-District 22 Team and 2013 Preseason All-Southern Conference Team selection, he currently leads the Cougars in scoring averaging 13.0 points per game and ranks ninth all-time in career three-pointers made (163) in the school record books. Last year, he finished No. 31 nationally in assists per game (5.5 avg.) and No. 57 in steals per game (1.9 avg.).


“The Hall of Fame is proud to continue its mission with Mr. Cousy to celebrate and honor the top collegiate point guards in the country,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “This list represents a large range of college basketball’s top student athletes from across the country. We are excited to recognize these players for their continuous hard work and dedication.”


This watch list of candidates will be narrowed down to a final 20 around Jan. 1, 2013, final 10 near Feb. 1, 2013, and final five by approximately March 1, 2013. A premier selection committee has been appointed by the Hall of Fame to review the final five candidates in contention for the nation’s top collegiate point guard award. These Hall of Fame committees are made up of top college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers. The winner of the 2013 Bob Cousy Award will be presented at the Hall of Fame’s Class Announcement on Championship Monday as part of 2013 NCAA Final Four weekend in Atlanta.


“The Bob Cousy Award promotes the values of leadership, determination, and teamwork, all skills needed on the basketball court and in life,” said Ken Kaufman, Chair of the Bob Cousy Award and former president of the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC). “Mr. Cousy exemplified all of these traits, and inspired so many people on and off the court. We hope that this coveted award continues to honor his legacy.”


Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award have included Jameer Nelson (Saint Joseph’s), Raymond Felton (North Carolina), Dee Brown (Illinois), Acie Law IV (Texas A&M), DJ Augustin (Texas), Ty Lawson (North Carolina), Greivis Vasquez (Maryland), Kemba Walker (Connecticut) and last year’s recipient Kendall Marshall (North Carolina). For more information on the 2013 Bob Cousy Award, log onto:



Jahii Carson Arizona State University

Pierre Jackson Baylor University

Kerron Johnson Belmont University

Rotnei Clarke Butler University

Kwame Vaughn Cal State Fullerton

Trey Freeman Campbell University

Andrew Lawrence College of Charleston

Brian Barbour Columbia University

JP Kuhlman Davidson College

Frantz Massenat Drexel University

Quinn Cook Duke University

Miguel Paul East Carolina University

Derek Needham Fairfield University

Montay Brandon Florida State University

Devonta White Georgia State University

Kevin Pangos Gonzaga University

Siyani Chambers Harvard University

Jordan Hulls Indiana University

Jake Odum Indiana State University

Korie Lucious Iowa State University

Devon Moore James Madison University

Tyreek Duren La Salle University

C.J. McCollum Lehigh University

Mackey McKnight Lehigh University

Anthony Ireland Loyola Marymount University

Cully Payne Loyola University Chicago

Michael Alvarado Manhattan College

Keith Appling Michigan State University

Isaiah Canaan Murray State University

Lorenzo Brown NC State University

Juan’ya Green Niagara University

Stallon Saldivar Northern Arizona University

Aaron Craft Ohio State University

D.J. Cooper Ohio University

Marcus Smart Oklahoma State University

Ahmad Starks Oregon State University

Dylan Garrity Sacramento State

Kwamain Mitchell Saint Louis University

Mike McCall Jr. Saint Louis University

Xavier Thames San Diego State

Evan Roquemore Santa Clara University

Nate Wolters South Dakota State University

Neil Watson Southern Mississippi

Matthew Dellavedova St. Mary’s College

Chasson Randle Stanford University

Anthony Jackson Stony Brook University

Michael Carter-Williams Syracuse University

Kyan Anderson TCU

Johnathan Jordan Texas A&M – Corpus Christi

Ricky Tarrant Tulane University

Anthony Marshall UNLV

Trevor Releford University of Alabama

Mark Lyons University of Arizona

BJ Young University of Arkansas

Justin Cobbs University of California

Spencer Dinwiddie University of Colorado

Shabazz Napier University of Connecticut

Kevin Dillard University of Dayton

Ray McCallum University of Detroit Mercy

Troy Taylor University of Evansville

Kenny Boynton University of Florida

Scottie Wilbekin University of Florida

Elijah Johnson University of Kansas

Peyton Siva University of Louisville

Pe’Shon Howard University of Maryland

Chaz Williams University of Massachusetts

Shane Larkin University of Miami

Trey Burke University of Michigan

Andre Hollins University of Minnesota

Phil Pressey University of Missouri

Deonte Burton University of Nevada

Hugh Greenwood University of New Mexico

Kendall Williams University of New Mexico

Dexter Strickland University of North Carolina

Eric Atkins University of Notre Dame

Tray Woodall University of Pittsburgh

Bruce Ellington University of South Carolina

LaShay Page University of South Carolina

Anthony Collins University of South Florida

Trae Golden University of Tennessee

Abdul Gaddy University of Washington

Erick Green Virginia Tech University

Trey Sumler Western Carolina University

Malcolm Armstead Wichita State University

Kendrick Perry Youngstown State University

Michael "Beach Mick" Hudson

About the Author:

Michael "Beach Mick" Hudson is the founder and Editor of Beach Carolina Magazine. Living along the coast of North Carolina, Mike has a passion for the beach and loves to bring news and events of the Carolinas to others around the world.

Comments are closed.

Find art fairs, craft shows, music festivals & more