Second Round Results from the NC Senior Four-Ball Championship at Greenville Country Club in Greenville, NC

GREENVILLE, NC August 13, 2014 – Second round results of the 14th North Carolina Senior Four-Ball Championship of the Carolinas Golf Association hosted by Greenville Country Club in Greenville, NC on Wednesday, August 13, 2014.  (Par 35-36—71, 6,200 yards, Rating: 70.1/128).

Greenville Country Club - front signage

Greenville Country Club
Greenville, NC

Russ Perry from Winston-Salem, NC and Mark Stephens from Troutman, NC shot back to back 63s to take a two-shot lead into the final round over first round leaders Preston Edmondson from Morrisville, NC and Steve Sharpe from Greensboro, NC.  Perry and Stephens have made fourteen birdies and one eagle over two days to get to 16-under par.  Defending champions Paul Simson and Don Detweiler sit alone in 3rd place and lurk just three shots behind.

Greenville Country Club golf course - azaleas

The cut line fell at two-over par 144 and 32 teams qualified for Thursday’s final round.  Final round starting times can be found here:


The North Carolina Senior Four-Ball Championship is a 54-hole four-ball stroke play event open to any male amateur golfer in North Carolina over the age of 55.


For more information on this championship, including full results, and photos, visit:


This championship is conducted by the Carolinas Golf Association which is in its 105th year of serving amateur golfers throughout North and South Carolina.


Second Round Results

1Russ Perry, Winston Salem, N.C. –  Mark Stephens, Troutman, N.C.63-63–126 (-16)
2Preston Edmondson, Morrisville, N.C. –  Steve Sharpe, Greensboro, N.C.62-66–128 (-14)
3Paul Simson, Raleigh, N.C. –  Don Detweiler, Raleigh, N.C.66-63–129 (-13)
T4Mark Wagner, Statesville, N.C. –  Dick Hogan, Burlington, N.C.63-68–131 (-11)
T4Gary Robinson, Fayetteville, N.C. –  Keith Waters, Raleigh, N.C.67-64–131 (-11)
T4Charley Hodges, Charlotte, N.C. –  John Rudolph, Charlotte, N.C.65-66–131 (-11)
7Jim Gallagher, Charlotte, N.C. –  Wesley Clark, Charlotte, N.C.65-67–132 (-10)
T8Ron Carpenter, Creedmoor, N.C. –  Gary Brown, Charlotte, N.C.65-69–134 (-8)
T8Charlie Parks, Asheboro, N.C. –  Doug Owens, Albemarle, N.C.67-67–134 (-8)
T8Cliff Seastrunk, Raleigh, N.C. –  Lennie Barton, Raleigh, N.C.66-68–134 (-8)
T11Robert Desjardins, Matthews, N.C. –  Bill Boles Jr., Wilson, N.C.67-68–135 (-7)
T11Ernie Newton, Wallburg, N.C. –  Larry Boswell, Jamestown, N.C.68-67–135 (-7)
T11Jim Pearson, Charlotte, N.C. –  Jim Grainger, Charlotte, N.C.67-68–135 (-7)
T11Wayne Pyrtle, Burlington, N.C. –  John Frazier, Burlington , N.C.68-67–135 (-7)
T11Trip Gentry, Greensboro, N.C. –  Brent Craft, Greensboro, N.C.68-67–135 (-7)
16Logan Jackson, Winston-Salem, N.C. –  David Strawn, Charlotte, N.C.69-68–137 (-5)
17Kim Mansfield, High Point, N.C. –  David Millis, High Point, N.C.69-69–138 (-4)
T18Jack Hooks, Wilmington, N.C. –  Penn Compton, Wilmington, N.C.72-67–139 (-3)
T18Brad Burris, High Point, N.C. –  Sid Aldridge, Raleigh, N.C.70-69–139 (-3)
T20Ray Novicki, Southern Pines, N.C. –  Vance Whicker, Summerfield, N.C.69-71–140 (-2)
T20Randy Beeson, Colfax, N.C. –  Arlis Pike, Kernersville, N.C.72-68–140 (-2)
T20Robert Parrott, Raleigh, N.C. –  Bob Kaylor, Raleigh, N.C.69-71–140 (-2)
T20Dee Blankenhorn, Raleigh, N.C. –  Jack Blankenhorn, Raleigh, N.C.71-69–140 (-2)
T24Rick Chapman, Granite Falls , N.C. –  Ron Shelton, Oak Ridge, N.C.70-71–141 (-1)
T24Edward Mills, Fairview, N.C. –  Greg Powell, Charlotte, N.C.69-72–141 (-1)
T24Mike Gibson, Greenville, N.C. –  Russell Eaves, Greenville, N.C.65-76–141 (-1)
T27Phillip Greene MD, Charlotte, N.C. –  Bill Thaxton, Monroe, N.C.69-73–142 (Even)
T27Dave Davis, Greensboro, N.C. –  Malcom Newberry, Dover, N.C.72-70–142 (Even)
29L J Sullivan, Nashville, N.C. –  Bob Norman, Rocky Mount, N.C.69-74–143 (+1)
T30Terry Rathman, Gastonia, N.C. –  Russ McLauchlan, Fuquay-Varina, N.C.73-71–144 (+2)
T30Steve Lubbers, Raleigh, N.C. –  Robbie Armistead, Raleigh, N.C.71-73–144 (+2)
T30Ray Jackson, Rocky Mount, N.C. –  Robert Marrow, Cedar Point, N.C.68-76–144 (+2)
 Failed to Qualify  
T33Mallory McDaniel, Kannapolis, N.C. –  Rock Pickard, Mooresville, N.C.75-70–145 (+3)
T33Lennie Younce, Lenoir, N.C. –  Dan Anderson, Lenoir, N.C.74-71–145 (+3)
T35Will Alston, Rocky Mount, N.C. –  Steve Moore, Nashville, N.C.74-72–146 (+4)
T35Jack Marin, Durham, N.C. –  Lea Couch, Bahama, N.C.72-74–146 (+4)
37Tom Ross, Chocowinity, N.C. –  Rick Moore, Winterville, N.C.73-74–147 (+5)
T38Michael Egan, Wilmington, N.C. –  Tom Rowland, Wilmington, N.C.76-72–148 (+6)
T38Rob Campbell, Charlotte, N.C. –  Michael Jones, Charlotte, N.C.77-71–148 (+6)
T38Lee Ball, Greenville, N.C. –  Bill Mitchum, Greenville, N.C.74-74–148 (+6)
41Ernest Teague, Atlantic Beach, N.C. –  Jerry Stowe, Battleboro, N.C.80-73–153 (+11)

The CGA and the USGA<>Linking You with Golf through GHIN®

Posted in: Events, Golf, Greenville NC
Michael "Beach Mick" Hudson

About the Author:

Michael "Beach Mick" Hudson is the founder and Editor of Beach Carolina Magazine. Living along the coast of North Carolina, Mike has a passion for the beach and loves to bring news and events of the Carolinas to others around the world.

Comments are closed.