Tough Non-Conference, CAA Slate Ahead For CofC Cougars

Click Here For 2014-15 CofC Men’s Basketball Schedule

 

CHARLESTON, SC August 28, 2014 – The College of Charleston men’s basketball team will face a tough non-conference and Colonial Athletic Association slate during the upcoming 2014-15 season including eight opponents which advanced to postseason play a year ago.

College of Charleston Cougars men's basketball

Courtesy: CofCSports.com

The Cougars will host NCAA Division III opponent Emory (Ga.) University in an exhibition game scheduled for Saturday, Nov. 8, at noon (ET) at TD Arena. The Eagles advanced to the Elite Eight in 2014.

 

CofC will then rekindle an old Southern Conference rivalry in its official season opener at Furman on Friday, Nov. 14, in Greenville, S.C., followed by its home opener against Gardner-Webb on Monday, Nov. 17, at TD Arena. Both the Cougars and Runnin’ Bulldogs will meet for the first time since a closely-contested ESPN BracketBusters matchup in 2013.

 

Highlighting the non-conference portion of the schedule is the program’s participation in the ESPN Puerto Rico Tip-Off to be held on Nov. 20-21 & 23, in San Juan, Puerto Rico. There, the Cougars commence the tournament with defending national champion Connecticut in the opening round on Thursday, Nov. 20, broadcasted live on ESPNU. CofC will then either face 2014 CBI Quarterfinalist Texas A&M or 2014 NCAA Elite Eight participant Dayton on Nov. 21. Tournament play concludes on Sunday, Nov. 23, with the championship and consolation games.

 

Other schools in the eight-team tournament field include 2014 NCAA Second Round participant New Mexico, Boston College, George Mason and 2014 NIT First Round participant West Virginia. The Mountaineers and Cougars will play a Puerto Rico Tip-Off non-bracketed game at West Virginia on Saturday, Nov. 29, in Morgantown, W. Va.

 

The month of December kicks off with a three-game homestand starting with crosstown rival The Citadel on Tuesday, Dec. 2, South Carolina State on Thursday, Dec. 11, and Campbell on Sunday, Dec. 14, at TD Arena.

 

The Cougars will then travel to Charlotte on Tuesday, Dec. 16, in Charlotte, N.C., before a much-anticipated home contest against regional rival and 2014 NIT First Round participant Davidson – in its first year as a member of the Atlantic 10 Conference – on Saturday, Dec. 20, at TD Arena.

 

Two road dates at FBS conference schools close out the year at SEC opponent LSU on Monday, Dec. 22, in Baton Rouge, La., and at ACC opponent Miami (Fla.) on Tuesday, Dec. 30, in Miami, Fla.

 

The Cougars commence year two as a member of the CAA with their league opener at William & Mary on Saturday, Jan. 3, 2015, in Williamsburg, Va. They will then host James Madison and Hofstra on Monday, Jan. 5, and Thursday, Jan. 8, respectively at TD Arena.

 

2014 NCAA Second Round participant and defending CAA Tournament champion Delaware comes to town on Saturday, Jan. 10, followed by a two-game conference road swing at first-year member Elon on Wednesday, Jan. 14, in Elon, N.C., and at Northeastern on Saturday, Jan. 17, in Boston, Mass.

 

Home dates in conference play also include UNCW on Wednesday, Jan. 21, William & Mary on Thursday, Feb. 5, Drexel on Saturday, Feb. 7, Towson on the NBC Sports Network on Sunday, Feb. 15, at 12:30 p.m. (ET), Elon on Wednesday, Feb. 18, and Northeastern for Senior Day on Saturday, Feb. 28.

 

Remaining CAA road games are scheduled at Drexel on the NBC Sports Network on Saturday, Jan. 24 at noon (ET), Towson on Thursday, Jan. 29, at Delaware on Saturday, Jan. 31, at UNCW on Thursday, Feb. 12, at James Madison on Saturday, Feb. 21, and at Hofstra on Wednesday, Feb. 25.

 

The 2015 CAA Men’s Basketball Championship will return to Baltimore Arena on March 6-9, 2015, in Baltimore, Md., where the winner will be crowned and receive the league’s automatic NCAA bid.

 

CofC men’s basketball season tickets are on sale now. For more information on availability, pricing and location, please visit us online at: www.CofCSports.com or call (843) 953-2632 (CofC).

 

Please note that dates and times are still subject to change due to television.

Michael "Beach Mick" Hudson

About the Author:

Michael "Beach Mick" Hudson is the founder and Editor of Beach Carolina Magazine. Living along the coast of North Carolina, Mike has a passion for the beach and loves to bring news and events of the Carolinas to others around the world.

Comments are closed.

Find art fairs, craft shows, music festivals & more
Book festival gigs - find festivals across North America